Berkeley Public Library Foundation

Berkeley Public Library Foundation

Recipients of the Cody Award

Recipients of the Cody Award

2020             Pegasus Books

Beloved community-oriented bookstore celebrating 50 years in business in 2020.

2019             John and Helen Meyer

Sound system pioneers, steadfast champions of Berkeley’s library, arts, and culture

2018             Steve Silberstein

Library innovator and philanthropist, developer of automated systems used in library systems around the world

2017             Linda Schacht Gage

Library advocate, Authors Dinner founder and longtime chair, and renowned broadcast journalist

2014             Donna Corbeil & the Berkeley Public Library Staff

Director of Library Services and staff, who oversaw the renovation on rebuilding of the neighborhood branch libraries

2012             Berkeley Reads

Berkeley’s acclaimed adult and family literacy program, based
in the Berkeley Public Library

2011             Marion Abbott & Ann Leyhe

Founders of Mrs. Dalloway’s Bookstore, Berkeley

2010             Malcolm Margolin

Author, publisher, and founder of Heyday, an independent publisher focused on California cultures, landscapes, and ideas

2009             Anna Rabkin

Author and the first president of the Berkeley Public Library Foundation

2008             Alice Waters

Food activist, author, chef, and founder of Chez Panisse Restaurant and the Edible Schoolyard Project

2007             Small Press Distribution

Nonprofit book distributor, supporting independent publishers and writers

2006             Friends of the Berkeley Public Library

Member-supported nonprofit operating two used bookstores to help fund Berkeley’s public library programs and collections

2005             Nolo Press

Publisher of how-to books on law and business

2004             Pat Cody

Co-founder of Cody’s Books, Berkeley

About the Cody Award